Bilingual/ESL Student Assessment
English Language Proficiency Standards
The English Language Proficiency (ELP) standards contain the language skills that limited English proficient children in Texas are taught to ensure that they have the full opportunity to learn English and succeed academically. The ELP standards are part of the state-required curriculum, the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS). The ELP standards consist of the Spanish language arts TEKS (grades K-6) and the English as a second language TEKS (grades K-12).
STAAR L is a linguistically accommodated English version of the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) grades 3–8 and end-of-course (EOC) mathematics, science, and social studies assessments. STAAR L is provided for English language learners (ELLs) who meet participation requirements for a substantial degree of linguistic accommodation in these subject areas.
TEA List of Approved Tests
TEA's annual review of approved tests for use in the identification of students of limited English proficiency as well as entry/exit from bilingual education and special language programs, in accordance with 19 TAC §89.1225(d) relating to Testing and Classification of Students.
TEA Student Assessment Division
Information on State Assessments for English Language Learners.
TEA Testing Calendar
Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS)
Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS)
TEKS in Spanish
Clarissa Dovalina
(210) 370-5307
Contact Clarissa Dovalina
Kerry Haupert
(210) 370-5494
Contact Kerry Haupert
Irma Tajonar
(210) 370-5463
Contact Irma Tajonar
Claudia Vargas-Ramirez
(210) 370-5463
Contact Claudia Vargas-Ramirez